Order Neckerales

This order, which sometimes is called Isobryales, is sometimes included into the Bryales because of characteristics of the peristome, and sometimes it in included into the Orthotrichales.

But the members of this order differ in their habit clearly from plants of those two groups. They are pleurocarpous mosses with creeping principal stems and ascending or pending branches. The capsules sit on short side branches, and the seta sometimes is very short.

The order contains a number of smaller families: Fontinalaceae, Hydropogonaceae, Cryphaeaceae, Leucodontaceae, Neckeraceae, Racopilaceae, Thamnobryaceae (Thamniaceae), Hypopterygiaceae, Climaciaceae, Phyllogoniaceae, Pterobryaceae and Meteoriaceae. Some tropical families I certainly forgot.

Fontinalaceae

Fontinalis antpyretica

Fontinalis antipyretica

This family consists of water mosses. Some species can stand temporary dryness, but most species are living always under water. The plants are rather big, in most cases 20-30cm long.

The apical cell, with which mosses grow, maintains its position during growth. As a consequence the mosses of this family are clearly triseriate (leaves are in three rows). (Some species have 5 rows, as far as I know.)

The leaves of the plants of this family are acute ovoid until lanceolate. In most cases they are sharply keeled and hollow. A midrib may exist or not. The edge of the leaf is smooth or at most serrulate at the tip. The cells are prosenchymtic. Many species only very rarely form sporogonia. Normally they reproduce vegetatively with broken shoots.

The family consists of 6 genera in the regions with moderate or cooler climate of the northern hemisphere. In Europe the genus Fontinalis with about 6 species, and the genus Dichelyma with two species can be found. The latter seemed to be extinct in Germany at the beginning of the 20th. century, but was found again 1996. The Fontinalis plants are getting rarer, because they need natural, clean water.

Cryphaeaceae

Cryphaea heteromalla

Cryphaea heteromalla

These are in most cases mosses, which grow on bark. The principal stems are creeping on the substrate, the branches are erect and are unramified until pinnate.

The leaves are acute, hollow, and with a midrib. The cells in the upper part of the leaf are rounded, in the lower part they are elongated. The capsules are immersed into the leaves, and the calyptra is small and campanulate (bell-shaped).

The familiy consists of 11 genera in regions with moderate or warmer climate. In Europe it is represented by only 2 species. The species Alsia abietina was used as packing material for vegetables in California.

Leucodontaceae

Leucodon sciuroides

Leucodon sciuroides

The family Leucodontaceae consists of 9 genera in regions with moderate or warmer climate. They are in most cases more or less robust plants, which grow on bark or rock. The principal stems of the plants are creeping. The branches are only little ramified, erect or often pendant.

The leaves are in most cases ovoid or ovoid lanceolate. There are species with simple midrib, without midrib, with a short double midrib, or with several side ribs. The cells in the upper part of the leaf normally are rhombic, in the lower part elongated, the alar cells sometimes quadratic.

None of the species is frequent in central Europe. The most frequent species is Leucodon sciuroides, which can sometimes be found in the mountains, and which is shown on the drawing on the right, too.

Neckeraceae

Neckera complanata

Neckera complanata

Under all families of the order the name giving Neckeraceae are very easily to recognize by its flattened stems: Although the leaves sit in spirals on the stem, the leaves on the upperside and the underside are appressed, and the leaves at the sides are turned in such a way, that all leaves are in plane orthogonal to the light. Such a flattened stem can be seen on the drawing on the right (which shows Neckera complanata).

The cells of the blade are short oval until long oval, but in every case smooth (not papillose). A midrib may exist or not.

The members of this family in most cases form robust, ramified and very glossy turfs. In total there are 11 genera, of which three can be found in Europe, and two in Germany.

On this site there are some pictures of the genus Neckera. And sometimes one can find Homalia trichomanoides.

Racopilaceae

Also the plants of this family are normally flattened. In contrary to the Neckeraceae the leaves on the sides of the stems, and the leaves on the upperside are different: The side leaves are oblique, dense and asymmetrical. The leaves on the upperside are symmetrical and distant one from another.

Thamnobryaceae (Thamniaceae)

Thamnobryum alopecurum

Thamnobryum alopecurum

The mosses of this family have a noticeable treelike habit: The principal axis creeps. From it stems ascend. The axis and the lower, unramified part of the stems only have reduced, scalelike leaves.

The leaves on the upper branches are lanceolate, with a midrib, and coarsly serrate. The midrib ends in most cases in the tip of the leaf. The cells of the leaves are round.

I don't know the number of genera and the range of this family. In Europe it is represented only by the genus Thamnobryum with three species. On Madeira and the Canaries there is at least one more species. Also the drawing on the right shows a member of this genus: Thamnobryum alopecurum.

Hypopterygiaceae

Similar to the plants of the Thamnobryaceae and the Climaciaceae those of this family have a creeping axis, of which treelike stems ascend. The axis and the lower part of the stems are covered only by little scalelike leaves. The arrangement of the leaves at the upper part is complicated: In total the stems are flattened. At each side there is a row of large, widespreading leaves, but there are also smaller underleaves similar as in Selaginella.

The leaves always have a midrib. They are limbate (bordered by elongated marginal cells) and the cells are round.

The familiy has its center of diversity in Malaysia and Australasia, but can be found allover the tropics. One species from Australia and Oceania seems to be imported into greenhouses and was very rarely found at the outside in Portugal. It is a small familiy with about 7 genera, of which 160 species are described. But many species seem to be described several times. A recent monography count 21 species (Hans Kruijer - Hypopterygiaceae of the World; Published by The National Herbarium of the Netherlands; Monograph, 2002; 388 pp., with line drawings and distribution maps ISBN 90-71236-51-X).

Climaciaceae

Climacium dendroides

Climacium dendroides

This family consist only of the name giving genus Climacium with four species in total. These are characterised by rhizome like creeping main stems, and robust, treelike branches.

Further information can be found in the file about the only central european species Climacium dendroides, which is shown on the drawing on the right too.

Pterobryaceae

About this familiy I don't know anything, except that it contains the species Myurium hochstetteri, which can be found on Madeira and the Canaries, and very rarely on the west coast of Ireland and Scotland.

Meteoriaceae

This is a numerous tropical family, whose members grow mainly pendant from bark. In Europe there is only one species, which was found near vulcanic steam fountains on the Liparic Islands (near Sicilia).

by Michael Becker, 4/2001. Translated: 5/2002.
Last modification: 2/2002.

Ordnung Neckerales

Diese Ordnung, welche auch manchmal Isobryales genannt wird, wird aufgrund von Peristommerkmalen manchmal auch bei den Bryales eingegliedert, und manchmal werden ihr die Orthotrichales eingegliedert.

Die Mitglieder dieser Ordnung weichen in ihrem Habitus aber schon deutlich von den beiden genannten Gruppen ab. Es handelt sich nämlich um pleurokarpe Moose mit kriechenden Hauptstämmchen und aufsteigenden oder hängenden Ästchen. Die Kapseln stehen an kurzen Seitenästen, wobei die Seta (der Kapselstiel) manchmal sehr kurz ist.

Die Ordnung besteht aus einer Vielzahl von kleineren Familien: Fontinalaceae, Hydropogonaceae, Cryphaeaceae, Leucodontaceae, Neckeraceae, Racopilaceae, Thamnobryaceae (Thamniaceae), Hypopterygiaceae, Climaciaceae, Phyllogoniaceae, Pterobryaceae und Meteoriaceae. Einige tropische Familien habe ich sicherlich vergessen.

Fontinalaceae

Fontinalis antipyretica

Fontinalis antipyretica

Diese Familie besteht durchgehend aus Wassermoosen. Einige Arten vertragen eine zeitweise Trockenlegung, die meisten aber leben durchgehend untergetaucht. Die Pflanzen sind ausgesprochen groß, meistens 20-30cm lang.

Die Scheitelzelle, mit der diese Moose wachsen, behält ihre Lage während des Wachstums bei. Hierdurch sind die Moose dieser Familie sehr deutlich dreireihig beblättert. (Einige wenige Arten sind glaube ich auch 5-reihig beblättert.)

Die Blätter der Pflanzen dieser Familie sind spitz eiförmig bis lanzettlich. Sie sind meist scharf gekielt und hohl. Eine Blattrippe kann vorhanden sein oder auch nicht. Der Blattrand ist ganzrandig oder höchstens an der Spitze gezähnt. Das Blattzellnetz ist prosenchymatisch. Viele Arten bilden nur selten Sporogone. Meistens vermehreren sie sich vegetativ durch abgerissene Sprosse.

Die Familie besteht aus 6 Gattungen in den gemäßigten und kühleren Gebieten der Nordhemisphäre. In Europa ist sie mit der Gattung Fontinalis mit ca. 6 Arten, und mit der Gattung Dichelyma mit zwei Arten vertreten. Die letztere schien in Deutschland seit Anfang des 20.Jh. ausgestorben, wurde aber 1996 wiedergefunden. Der Bestand der Fontinalis-Arten geht zurück, da die Pflanzen meist auf naturnahe, unverschmutzte Gewässer angewiesen sind.

Cryphaeaceae

Cryphaea heteromalla

Cryphaea heteromalla

Hierbei handelt es sich meist um Moose, die auf Rinde wachsen. Die Hauptstämmchen kriechen auf dem Substrat, die Äste stehen aufrecht ab und sind unverzweigt bis fiederästig.

Die Blätter sind spitz, hohl, und mit einer Mittelrippe. Die Blattzellen sind im vorderen Teil der Blattes rundlich, unten länglich. Die Kapseln sind in die Blätter eingesenkt, und auf ihnen sitzt eine kleine, glockenförmige Kalyptra.

Die Familie besteht aus 11 Gattungen in den gemäßigten und wärmeren Teilen der Erde. In Europa ist sie gerade mal mit 2 Arten vertreten. Die zu dieser Familie gehörende Art Alsia abietina wurde früher in Kalifornien gerne als Verpackungsmaterial für Gemüse verwendet.

Leucodontaceae

Leucodon sciuroides

Leucodon sciuroides

Die Familie Leucodontaceae besteht aus neun Gattungen, die in den gemäßigten und wärmeren Teilen der Welt vorkommen. Es handelt sich meist um mehr oder weniger kräftige Moose, die auf Rinde oder Felsen wachsen. Die Hauptstämmchen der Pflanzen sind bei dieser Familie kriechend. Daran sitzen nur wenig verzweigte, aufrechte oder oft auch hängende Seitenzweige.

Die Blätter sind meist eiförmig oder eiförmig lanzettlich. Die Berippung ist sehr unterschiedlich. Es gibt Arten mit einfacher Rippe, ohne Rippe, mit kurzer Doppelrippe, oder mit mehreren Nebenrippen. Das Blattzellnetz der Arten dieser Familie ist im oberen Blattteil typischerweise rhombisch, im unteren verlängert, in den Blattflügeln auch quadratisch.

Keine Art ist in Deutschland wirklich häufig. Am ehesten trifft man noch in den Gebirgen Leucodon sciuroides, welches auch als typischer Vertreter der Familie auf der Skizze rechts zu sehen ist.

Neckeraceae

Neckera complanata

Neckera complanata

Unter allen Familien der Ordnung ist die namesgebende sehr einfach an ihren verflacht beblätterten Stämmchen zu erkennen: Zwar stehen die Blätter streng genommen immer noch spiralig an den Stengeln, aber die Blätter auf der Ober- und der Unterseite der Stämmchen sind angedrückt, und die seitlichen Blätter so gedreht, daß alle Blätter in einer Ebene senkrecht zum Lichteinfall liegen. Rechts auf dem Skizze sieht man ein solches flachgedrücktes Stämmchen (der Art Neckera complanata).

Die Zellen der Blattfläche sind kurz oval bis lang oval, auf jeden Fall aber glatt (nicht papillös). Eine Blattrippe kann existieren oder auch nicht.

Die Vertreter dieser Familie bilden meist kräftige, stark verzweigte und sehr stark glänzende Rasen an Rinden oder auf Fels. Es gibt insgesamt 11 Gattungen, von denen drei in Europa und zwei in Deutschland vorkommen.

Hier gibt es Bilder der Gattung Neckera selber. Ab und zu trifft man in Deutschland außerdem noch Homalia trichomanoides.

Racopilaceae

Auch die Pflanzen dieser Familie sind in der Regel verflacht beblättert. Im Gegensatz zu den Neckeraceen sind hier jedoch die Blätter auf der Seite des Stämmchen und die Blätter auf ihrem Rücken unterschiedlich ausgebildet: Die Seitenblätter sind schräg angewachsen, dicht gestellt und asymmetrisch, die Blätter auf dem Rücken dagegen sind symmetrisch und stehen weiter auseinander.

Thamnobryaceae (Thamniaceae)

Thamnobryum alopecurum

Thamnobryum alopecurum

Die Moose dieser Familie haben einen auffällig bäumchenförmigen Wuchs: Die Grundachse kriecht. Von ihre steigen Stämmchen auf. Die Grundachse und der untere, unverzweigte Teil der Stämmchen sind nur mit zurückgebildeten, schuppenförmigen Blättern bedeckt.

Die Blätter an den oberen Ästchen sind lanzettlich, mit Rippe und grob gesägt. Die Blattrippe reicht meist bis vor die Blattspitze. Die Zellen der Blätter sind rundlich.

Über die Anzahl der Gattungen dieser Familie und ihre Verbreitung weiß ich nicht Bescheid. In Europa ist nur die Gattung Thamnobryum mit drei Arten vertreten. Auf Madeira und den Kanaren folgt dann schon mindestens eine weitere. Auch die Skizze rechts zeigt einen Vertreter dieser Gattung: Thamnobryum alopecurum.

Hypopterygiaceae

Ähnlich wie die Pflanzen der Thamnobryaceae und der Climaciaceae haben diejenigen dieser Familie eine auf dem Boden kriechende Grundachse, von der bäumchenförmige Äste aufsteigen. Die Grundachse und der untere Teil der Äste ist lediglich mit kleinen Schuppen bedeckt. Die Beblätterung der oberen Äste ist kompliziert: Insgesamt ist sie verflacht. An den Seiten gibt es je eine Reihe mit großen, abstehenden Blättern, aber außerdem gibt es kleinere Unterblätter, ähnlich wie es beim Moosfarn (Selaginella) der Fall ist.

Die Blätter haben stets eine Rippe. Sie sind gesäumt und die Zellen sind rundlich.

Die Familie hat ihr Diversitätszentrum in Malaysia und Australasien, kommt aber in den Tropen der ganzen Welt vor. Eine Art aus Australien und Ozeanien ist wohl manchmal in Gewächshäuser eingeschleppt und kann sehr selten in Portugal auch im Freien gefunden werden. Es handelt sich um eine kleine Familie mit rund 7 Gattungen, von denen 160 Arten beschrieben sind, wobei allerdings viele Arten doppelt vorkommen. Eine neuere Monographie zählt nur 21 Arten auf (Hans Kruijer - Hypopterygiaceae of the World; Published by The National Herbarium of the Netherlands; Monograph, 2002; 388 pp., with line drawings and distribution maps ISBN 90-71236-51-X).

Climaciaceae

Climacium dendroides

Climacium dendroides

Diese Familie besteht nur aus der namensgebenden Gattung Climacium mit insgesamt vier Arten. Diese zeichnen sich durch einen rhizomartig kriechenden Hauptsproß und die kräftigen, bäumchenförmig verzweigten Äste aus.

Weitere Informationen findet man in der Datei über die einzige einheimische Art Climacium dendroides, welche auch auf der Skizze rechts abgebildet ist.

Pterobryaceae

Über diese Familie weiß ich nichts, außer daß sie die Art Myurium hochstetteri enthält, die auf den Kanaren und Madeira vorkommt, und sehr selten außerdem an den Westküsten Irlands und Schottlands.

Meteoriaceae

Dies ist eine artenreiche tropische Familie, deren Vertreter größtenteils an Rinde hängend wachsen. In Europa gibt es nur eine einzige Art, die an vulkanischen Dampfquellen auf den Liparischen Inseln (bei Sizilien) wächst.

by Michael Becker, 4/2001. Letzte Änderung: 5/2002.