Rhytidium rugosum (Hedw.) Kindb.

Rhytidium rugosum

Rhytidium rugosum on a slope of granite boulders near Linz (Austria). (Picture by Felix Kossak)

Family: Rhytidiaceae(de), Order: Hypnales(de)

Rhytidium rugosum is the only species of the genus and the family.

It is a rather robust moss with stems up to 10cm long. It is yellowish or in most cases brownish green. Not only the leaves are unilateral, but the tips of the stems and the branches too are bent down, what can be seen clearly on the picture.

The leaves are ovate and longly acuminate. The tip of the leaf is serrulate. The cells are prosenchymatic, only the alar cells are quadratic or rectangular. The cells are papillose on the upper side. The midrib ends in the middle of the leaf.

The capsule is arcuate. The peristome consists of two rows of teeth. The operculum is conical and obliquely beaked(???). But mosses with capsules are rather rare.

Rhytidium rugosum can be found in europe and north america on more or less sunny, stony slopes, in particular on calciferous stones and on basalt, but is not frequent. In germany the species is endangered.

by Michael Becker, 6/2000. Translated: 2/2002:
Last modification: 2/2002.

Rhytidium rugosum (Hedw.) Kindb.

Rhytidium rugosum

Rhytidium rugosum auf einem Granitschutt-Hang in der Nähe von Linz. (Bild von Felix Kossak)

Familie: Rhytidiaceae, Ordnung: Hypnales

Rhytidium rugosum ist die einzige Art der Gattung und der Familie.

Es handelt sich um ein recht kräftiges Moos mit bis zu 10cm langen Stengeln. Es ist gelblich oder meist bräunlich grün. Nicht nur die Blättchen sind deutlich einseitswendig, auch die Ast- und Stämmchenenden neigen sich nach unten, was man auf dem Bild auch gut erkennen kann.

Die Blätter sind eiförmig und in eine lange Spitze ausgezogen. Die Blattspitze ist gesägt. Die Blattzellen sind lang gestreckt, lediglich in den Blattflügeln befinden sich quadratische oder rechteckige Zellen. Die Zellen sind auf dem Blattrücken papillös. Die Blattrippe reicht bis in die Blattmitte.

Die Kapsel ist gekrümmt. Das Peristom besteht aus zwei Reihen von Zähnen. Der Deckel ist kegelig und schief geschnäbelt. Allerdings kommen Moose mit Kapseln ziemlich selten vor.

Rhytidium rugosum kommt in Europa und Nordamerika vor allem auf mehr oder weniger sonnigen, steinigen Abhängen, vor allem auf kalkhaltigem Gestein und auf Basalt, vor, ist allerdings nicht besonders häufig. In Deutschland ist die Art gefährdet.

by Michael Becker, 6/2000. Letzte Änderung: 2/2002.