Plagiomnium

Familie: Mniaceae(de) Ordnung: Bryales(de)

Within the family the plants of this genus are characterized by their prostrate or erect, but pendant habit. Only fertile plants are completely erect, with a tuft of leaves at the tip, or rosulately ramified.

The leaves are big and limbate (bordered by elongate cells). The edge of the leaves is serrate.

Plagiomnium undulatum (Hedw.) T.Kop.

Within the genus this species is simply recognizable by its long lingulate, often 1cm long, and clearly undulate leaves.

It is a really common european and asian species. It grows at all humid locations, e.g. near brooks or beside forest paths. In most cases it is erect and pendant, and it can be as high as 10cm. Alone by its size and its fresh light green color the plant is rather noticeable.

sterile Plagiomnium undulatum fertile Plagiomnium undulatum

On the first picture a sterile plant can be seen. The long, slender leaves and the pendant habit can easily be recognized. The next picture shows a fertile plant -about 5cm high-. The tip of the plant is rosulately ramified as described before.

leafs edge of Plagiomnium undulatum

A leafs edge of Plagiomnium undulatum under the microscope. The leaf edges of the other species are similar. The lax hexagonal cells typical for the family, and the border of elongated cells can easiliy be recognized.

by Michael Becker, 11/2000. Translated: 2/2002:
Last modification: 11/2000.

Plagiomnium

Familie: Mniaceae Ordnung: Bryales

Innerhalb der Familie sind die Pflanzen dieser Gattung durch einen niederliegenden oder aufrechten, aber überhängenden Wuchs gekennzeichnet. Lediglich die fertilen Pflanzen sind aufrecht, oben schopfig beblättert und manchmal rosettenförmig verzweigt.

Die Blätter sind groß, mit einem Saum aus verlängerten Zellen. Der Blattrand ist gesägt.

Plagiomnium undulatum (Hedw.) T.Kop.

Innerhalb der Gattung ist diese Art sofort an ihren lang zungenförmigen, oft bis zu 1cm langen, deutlich quergewellten Blättern zu erkennen.

Es handelt sich um eine ausgesprochen häufige Art Eurasiens. Sie wächst an allen feuchten Standorten wie an Bachrändern oder an Rändern von Waldwegen. Sie wächst meist aufrecht bis überhängend und kann bis zu 10cm hoch werden. Allein durch ihre Größe und ihre frisch hellgrüne Farbe ist sie recht auffällig.

steriles Plagiomnium undulatum fertiles Plagiomnium undulatum

Auf dem ersten Bild ist eine sterile Pflanze zu sehen. Rechts im Hintergrund liegt als Größenvergleich ein 2-Pfennig-Stück. Gut zu erkennen sind die langen, großen Blätter und der überhängende Wuchs. Auf dem nächsten Bild sieht man eine fertile Pflanze -ca. 5cm hoch-. Hier ist die oben schopfige Verästelung zu sehen.

Blattrand von Plagiomnium undulatum

Blattrand von Plagiomnium undulatum unter dem Mikroskop. Genauso sehen auch die Blattränder aller anderen Arten der Gattung aus. Gut zu erkennen ist das für die Familie typische locker sechseckige Blattzellnetz, und der Saum aus langen, schmalen Zellen.

by Michael Becker, 11/2000. Letzte Änderung: 11/2000.