Neckera

Family: Neckeraceae(de), Order: Neckerales(de)

The plants of this genus are rather typical members of the family: They form very glossy turfs on trees or rocks. The plants are mostly simply or double pinnate. Flagella, i.e. small breeding branches with thin leaves, often exist.

The leaves of the plants of this genus are lingulate, in most cases with a short, clearly distinguished tip. A midrib doesn't exist or is very short and double. The cells of the blade are long in the lower part of the leaf, and shorter in the upper part.

Worldwide there are nearly 100 species. In Europe there are only 6.

Neckera crispa Hedw.

This is certainly the most remarcable european species of the genus. It is very easy to recognize by its very undulate leaves and its robust habit: The plants normally reach lengths of between 5cm and 20cm, and are 5mm broad. The single leaves are 3-5mm long. The plants are colored bright green until deep green.

The capsules are raised above the plant on a long seta.

The plants preferably form enormous turfs on barc of trees or on calciferous rocks. In calciferous mountains the species is very frequent, and more rare otherwise. In the flatlands it seems to be absent.

Neckera crispa

Neckera crispa on a tree trunk somewhere near the Bodensee (in southern germany).

Neckera complanata (Hedw.) Hüb.

Neckera complanata

Neckera complanata at a somewhat shady location on a wall of the ruin Montfort near Bad Kreuznach (germany). Unfortunately the picture is not very good because of the strong gloss of the plant.

Together with Neckera crispa this is the most frequent species in central Europe. The leaves of this species are not undulate. The end in a short, clearly distinguished tip. The plants seem to be not as robust as the preceding species, because they are only about 3mm broad. But the stems can reach lengths of about 15cm too. In most cases they are 5-10cm long. The plants form very glossy, in most cases silver or bright grey-green turfs. Flagella are very common in this species.

The capsule of this species too is raised far above the leaves.

The species can be found in regions of the northern hemisphere with moderate climate. In central Europa it is common in calciferous mountains. Otherwise it is more rare, but not absent. It grows preferably on rocks, sometimes on barc.

by Michael Becker, 4/2001. Translated: 4/2002:
Last modification: 4/2001.

Neckera

Familie: Neckeraceae, Ordnung: Neckerales

Die Pflanzen dieser Gattung sind recht typische Vertreter der Familie: Sie bilden stark glänzende Rasen an Bäumen oder Felsen. Die Pflanzen sind meist ein- bis zweifach gefiedert. Oft existieren auch Flagellen, d.h. kleine, dünnblättrige Brutsprosse.

Die Blätter der Pflanzen dieser Gattung sind zungenförmig, meist mit einem kurzen, aufgesetzten Spitzchen. Eine Blattrippe fehlt oder sie ist sehr kurz und doppelt. Die Zellen der Blattfläche sind im unteren Teil des Blätter langgestreckt, um oberen kürzer.

Weltweit gibt es knapp 100 Arten. In Europa und auch in Deutschland kommen davon 6 vor.

Neckera crispa Hedw.

Dies ist sicherlich die auffälligste einheimische Art der Gattung. Die Art ist sehr leicht an ihren stark querwelligen Blättern und ihrem kräftigen Wuchs zu erkennen: Die Pflanzen sind in der Regel zwischen 5 und 20cm lang und die Stämmchen rund 5mm breit. Die einzelnen Blätter sind rund 3-5mm lang. Von der Farbe her sind die Pflanzen hell- bis kräftig sattgrün.

Die Kapseln sind auf einem langen Stiel über die Pflanze emporgehoben.

Die Pflanze bildet gerne riesige Bestände auf Baumrinde oder an kalkhaltigem Fels. In den Kalkgebirgen ist sie ziemlich häufig, ansonsten eher selten. Im Flachland scheint sie völlig zu fehlen.

Neckera crispa

Neckera crispa an einem Baumstamm irgendwo in der Nähe des Bodensees aufgenommen.

Neckera complanata (Hedw.) Hüb.

Neckera complanata

Neckera complanata an einer etwas schattigen Stelle an einer Mauer der Ruine Montfort bei Bad Kreuznach. Wegen des starken Glanzes der Pflanze ist das Bild leider nicht sehr deutlich.

Zusammen mit Neckera crispa ist dies in Deutschland die häufigste Art. Die Blätter dieser Art sind nicht querwellig. Sie enden in einem kurzen, aufgesetzten Spitzchen. Die Pflanzen erscheinen nicht ganz so kräftig wie die der letzten Art, da sie nur vielleicht 3mm breit sind. Sie Stämmchen können aber durchaus auch Längen von 15cm erreichen. Meist sind es ca. 5-10cm. Die Pflanzen bilden stark glänzende, meist silbrig- oder hell graugrüne Rasen. Flagellen kommen bei dieser Art relativ häufig vor.

Auch hier ist die Kapsel weit über die Blätter emporgehoben.

Die Art kommt in den gemäßigten Breiten der Nordhemisphäre vor. In Deutschland ist sie vor allem in den Kalkgebirgen verbreitet. Ansonsten ist sie seltener, aber durchaus vorhanden. Sie wächst vor allem an Felsen, manchmal auf auf Rinde.

by Michael Becker, 4/2001. Letzte Änderung: 4/2001.