Leaf of Myurella tenerrima

Leaf of Myurella teneriiam. Its hollowness can be seen rather well: The middle part is blurred, whereas the edges of the leaf were in the focus. I found the specimen, of which the picture shows a leaf, in the Thorsmørk on Iceland.

Myurella tenerrima (Brid.)Lindb.

Family: Pterigynandraceae, Order: Thuidiales

The plants of this genus are typical representants of the family: The rounded leaves are very hollow and imbricate, so that the stems are rounded like worms. The edges of the leaves are finely denticulated. A midrib doesn't exist or is short and double. The cells of the leaf blade are elliptic and with spiny papillas.

The leaves of the species Myurella tenerrima (="Myurella apiculata (Sommerf.)BSG") are characterised by a long and clearly distinguished acumen. The teeth on the leaves edge are small and consist only of some projecting cell corners.

The species forms small slighlty bluish or yellowish-green turfs, often between other mosses in cracks or on earthy rocks. The plants are small, 1-2cm long, and more or less unramified. The species can be found in northern europe, and in germany only in the alps and in the Allgäu.

by Michael Becker, 2/2002. Translated: 4/2002:
Last modification: 2/2002.

Blättchen von Myurella tenerrima

Blatt von Myurella teneriiam. Man kann gut erkennen, wie hohl es ist: Der mittlere Teil des Blattes ist ganz unscharf, weil er nicht wie der Rand des Blattes in der Brennebene lag. Das Exemplar, vom dem das Blättchen stammt, habe ich in der Thorsmørk in Island gefunden.

Myurella tenerrima (Brid.)Lindb.

Familie: Pterigynandraceae, Ordnung: Thuidiales

Bei den Pflanzen dieser Gattung handelt es sich um typische Vertreter der Familie: Die rundlichen Blätter sind sehr hohl und liegen dem Stämmchen dachziegelartig an, wodurch diese wurmartig rund sind. Der Blattrand ist gezähnt. Eine Blattrippe fehlt oder ist sehr kurz oder kurz und doppelt. Die Zellen der Blätter sind elliptisch und mit stacheligen Papillen besetzt.

Die Blätter der Art Myurella tenerrima (="Myurella apiculata (Sommerf.)BSG") zeichnen sich durch eine lange, aufgesetzte Spitze aus. Die Zähnung am Blattrand ist eher schwach ausgeprägt und besteht lediglich aus hervorspringenden Zellecken.

Die Art bildet etwas bläulich- oder gelblich-grüne kleine Räschen, gerne auch zwischen anderen Moosen, in Felsspalten oder auf übererdeten Felsen. Es handelt sich um kleine, 1-2cm lange, mehr oder weniger unverzweigte Pflänzchen. Die Art kommt in Nordeuropa vor, in Deutschland findet man sie nur in den Alpen und im Allgäu. (Ihr Gefährdungsstatus ist aber wegen fehlendem Datenmaterial nicht bekannt.)

by Michael Becker, 2/2002. Letzte Änderung: 2/2002.