Leucodon sciuroides

A Leucodon-specimen from near Unteruhldingen (upon the Bodensee, south germany).

Leucodon sciuroides (Hedw.) Schaegr.

Family: Leucodontaceae(de), Order: Neckerales(de)

The plants of this genus have arcuate ascending branches. This characteristic is the reason for its german name "Eichhörnchen-Moos" ("squirrel moss"). In dry state the leaves are imbricate, as can be seen on the picture. In humid state they are erectopatent.

The leaves are completely without midrib, but in most cases somewhat plicate. The cells are smooth.

Altogether the genus consists of 35 species. The only one, that can be found in Europe, is "Leucodon sciuroides". It usually grows on barc, sometimes as well on rocks. It rather prefers dry and light locations, where it forms brownish green, robust turfs. Vegetative reproduction takes place by small branches falling off. In this case the plants look a bit more bristly.

The species is rather sensitive to air pollution. Meanwhile it is only very rare in the german flat country. In the mountains it is somewhat more frequent. All in all the species is endangered in germany.

by Michael Becker, 8/2001. Translated: 2/2002:
Last modification: 2/2002.

Leucodon sciuroides

Ein Leucodon-Exemplar aus der Nähe von Unteruhldingen am Bodensee.

Leucodon sciuroides (Hedw.) Schaegr.

Familie: Leucodontaceae, Ordnung: Neckerales

Die Pflanzen dieser Gattung haben bogig aufsteigende Sekundärästchen. Diese Merkmal hat ihnen auch den deutschen Namen "Eichhörnchen-Moos" eingebracht. Im trockenen Zustand haben die Pflanzen dicht dachziegelartig am Stämmchen anliegende Blätter, wie es auch auf dem Bild zu sehen ist. Im feuchten Zustand stehen die Blättchen aufrecht ab.

Die Blätter sind völlig rippenlos, haben aber meist einige unter dem Mikroskop deutlich erkennbare Längsfalten. Die Laminazellen sind glatt.

Insgesamt besteht die Gattung aus 35 Arten. Die einzige, die davon in Europa heimisch ist, ist "Leucodon sciuroides". Sie wächst meist auf Rinde, seltener auch auf Felsen. Insgesamt bevorzugt sie eher trockene, helle Standorte, an denen sie braungrüne, kräftige Rasen bildet. Vegetative Vermehrung kann durch kleine Bruchästchen erfolgen. In diesem Fall sehen die Pflanzen etwas struppiger aus.

Die Art reagiert empfindlich auf Luftverschmutzung. Im deutschen Flachland kommt sie inzwischen nur noch sehr selten vor. Im Gebirge ist sie noch etwas häufiger. Insgesamt ist die Art in Deutschland gefährdet.

by Michael Becker, 8/2001. Letzte Änderung: 2/2002.