Leskea polycarpa Ehrh.

Family: Leskeaceae(de); Order: Thuidiales(de)

This genus consists of slender, in most cases more or less regularly pinnate branched species. The leaves are thinly ovate at the base and longly or shortly acuminate at the tip. The cells of the blades are rounded hexagonal with few (in most cases one or two) papilles. The midrip is strong and ends in the tip of the leaf. The leaves are not serrate or denticulate, except sometimes at the tip, where they may be denticulate.

In total the genus consists of about 75 species (according to the view) on the northern hemisphere. In Europe there is only this single species.

Leskea polycarpa is a typical member of the genus. In this species the leaves are often a bit denticulate at the tip. At the base they are somewhat plicate. If the edge of the leaf is revolute, then only at the base. The capsule is erect and its operculum acute conical.

The species reaches a height of about 2-4cm. It forms light green or dirty green covers on shady places, preferably on wood and bark, but also on stone. It is not rare in the woods beside the larger rivers of the lowlands and their tributaries, whereas in the mountains it is rather rare.

Leskea polycarpa

A Leskea polycarpa turf on a horizontal branch of a poplar at the lower course of the Sieg (near Bonn, germany).

by Michael Becker, 9/2000. Translated: 2/2002:
Last modification: 9/20002.

Leskea polycarpa Ehrh.

Familie: Leskeaceae; Ordnung: Thuidiales

Diese Gattung besteht aus schlanken, oft mehr oder weniger regelmäßig fiederästigen Arten. Die Blätter sind aus einem schmal eiförmigen Grund in eine lange oder kurze Spitze ausgezogen. Die Zellen der Blattfläche sind rundlich sechseckig mit wenigen (meist ein oder zwei) Papillen. Die Blattrippe ist kräftig und endet in der Blattspitze. Die Blätter sind ganzrandig. Höchstens an der Spitze sind sie ein bißchen gezähnelt.

Insgesamt besteht die Gattung (je nach Auffassung) aus rund 75 Arten, die auf der Nordhemisphäre vorkommen. In Europa kommt nur diese eine Art vor.

Leskea polycarpa ist ein typischer Vertreter der Gattung. Die Blätter sind hier an der Spitze häufig etwas gezähnelt. Am Grunde sind sie meist ein wenig längsfaltig. Wenn der Blattrand umgeschlagen ist, dann nur am Blattgrund. Die Kapsel ist aufrecht und ihr Deckel ist spitz kegelig.

Die 2-4cm große Art bildet schmutzig-grüne bis hellgrüne Überzüge an feuchten und schattigen Stellen vor allem auf Holz und Rinde, aber auch auf Gestein. Sie kommt vor allen in den Auenwäldern an den großen Strömen des Flachlandes und deren Nebenflüssen nicht selten vor. In den Gebirgen kommt die Art nur selten vor.

Leskea polycarpa

Ein Leskea-Rasen auf einem waagerechten Stamm einer Pappel am Unterlauf der Sieg.

by Michael Becker, 9/2000. Letzte Änderung: 9/2000.