midrib of Eurhynchium angustirete coming out as thorne

The midrib of a leaf of Eurhynchium angustirete. coming out as thorne on the underside.

Eurhynchium

Family: Brachytheciaceae(de) Order: Hypnales(de)

The genus Eurhynchium is sometimes divided into the genera Eurhynchium, Oxyrhynchium and Stokesiella, but the definitions of those genera are matter of discussion. So most books put all species into one big genus "Eurhynchium".

Within the family the plants of this genus are characterized by their midrib, which ends in the upper part of the leaf and comes out as a thorne on the underside of the leaf.

branch leaf of Eurhynchium praelongum stem leaf of Eurhynchium praelongum

Branch leaf and stem leaf of Eurhynchium praelongum.

The shape of the leaves is different on the main stems and the branches: The leaves on the branches are longer, more slender, and lanceolate, whereas the stem leaves or broadly deltoid or cordate. All leaves are clearly dentate. The cells are -as in nearly all species of the family- prosenchymatic. The two pictures on the right show a typical stem leaf, and a typical branch leaf (the latter in a somewhat stronger magnification). But in most species the difference it not as marked as in those leaves of Eurhynchium praelongum.

The plants of this genus are in most cases laxly irregularly branched until dendroid.

The operculum always carries a long beak.

In total this genus contains about 90 species, 12 thereof in Europe, 9 in germany.

Eurhynchium praelongum (Hedw.) B.S.G.

Eurhynchium praelongum

Eurhynchium praelongum on the humus in a ditch beside a forest path near Bad Münstereifel (germany).

The species Eurhynchium praelongum is a very common moss of the lowlands and the highlands (but not of the mountains). It likes shady and humid or moist locations, e.g. forest grounds, in ditches or near brooks. It grows on earth as well as on rotten wood or wet rocks.

Plants of this species are in most cases rather regularly and densly pennate. The visible part of the feathers is in most cases about 3-4cm long. The total length may be 10cm.

The different shaping of the stem leaves and the branch leaves (to be seen in the two pictures above) is much more clearer in this species than in the most other species of the genus. The stem leaves are broadly cordate or deltoid at the base, and then more or less suddenly contracted into a long and sharp and denticulate acumen.

Eurhynchium striatum (Hedw.) Schimp.

This is one of the more robust Eurhynchium species. It is about 5cm high. Characteristic are the ascending and more or less dendroid stems, what can't be seen on the view from above on the picture below. The plants are green or yellowish green. Sometimes some branches are like flagella. The next species Eurhynchium angustirete has a very similar habit, but is rather simply distinguishable by the shape of the leaves.

The sometimes somewhat squarrose leaves have a broad, cordate base and a deltoid tip. Whole the edge is dentate. The branch leaves are a bit smaller than the stem leaves, but apart from this similar. In total the leaves are about two times as long as they are broad.

Eurhynchium striatum forms lax turfs on shady forest grounds, under bushes, on rotten wood or in humid, shady meadows. It can be found in whole Europe, in particular in the atlantic and mediterranean regions, and in parts of north africa.

Eurhynchium striatum

Eurhynchium striatum.

Eurhynchium angustirete (Broth.) Kop.

stem leaf of Eurhynchium angustirete

Stem leaf of Eurhynchium angustirete.

This species is closely related to Eurhynchium striatum and nearly looks like it too. Sometimes it is looked upon as a subspecies of it. The distinguishing characteristic are the substantially broader leaves of Eurhynchium angustirete: The stem leaves are in most cases only a bit longer than broad. The angle at the tip of the leaf is about 45° or more. Unfortunately the leaf on the right did only barely fit into the picture, so that the quality is not very good near the edge. The plants are perhaps a bit more stocky and more densly foliated than Eurhynchium striatum.

Eurhynchium angustirete grows at similar locations as Eurhynchium striatum and often together with it. It can be found in Europa and in Asia. In Bavaria and the Alpes it is more frequent than Eurhynchium striatum and seems to replace it at many locations.

by Michael Becker, 10/2000. Translated: 2/2002:
Last modification: 8/2001.

als Dorn austretende Blattrippe bei Eurhynchium angustirete

Als Dorn austretende Blattrippe auf der Unterseite eines Blattes von Eurhynchium angustirete.

Eurhynchium

Familie: Brachytheciaceae Ordnung: Hypnales

Die Gattung Eurhynchium wird auch manchmal in die Gattungen Eurhynchium, Oxyrhynchium und Stokesiella aufgeteilt, wobei die Abgrenzungen aber umstritten sind. Deshalb werden die Arten in den meisten Büchern zu einer großen Gattung "Eurhynchium" zusammengefaßt.

Innerhalb der Familie zeichnen sich die Pflanzen der Gattung dadurch aus, daß die Blattrippe im oberen Teil des Blattes aufhört und auf der Blattunterseite noch kurz als Dorn austritt.

Astblatt von Eurhynchium praelongum Stämmchenblatt von Eurhynchium praelongum

Astblatt und Stämmchenblatt von Eurhynchium praelongum.

Die Blattform ist an den Hauptstämmchen und den Seitenästchen unterschiedlich: Die Ästchenblätter sind länger, schmaler, kleiner und von der Form her schmallanzettlich. Die Stämmchenblätter dagegen sind breit dreieckig bis herzförmig. Alle Blätter sind deutlich gesägt. Die Blattzellen sind, wie bei fast allen Arten der Familie langgestreckt (prosenchymatisch). Links auf den beiden Bildern sieht man ein typisches Stämmchen- und ein typisches Astblatt (dieses in etwas stärkerer Vergrößerung). Bei den meisten Arten ist der Unterschied allerdings lange nicht so markant ausgeprägt, wie bei diesen beiden Blättchen von Eurhynchium praelongum.

Die Pflanzen der Gattung sind meist locker unregelmäßig bis bäumchenförmig verzweigt.

Der Kapseldeckel trägt bei Vertretern dieser Gattung einen langen Schnabel.

Insgesamt enthält die Gattung ca. 90 Arten. 12 davon kommen in Europa vor, 9 in Deutschland.

Eurhynchium praelongum (Hedw.) B.S.G.

Eurhynchium praelongum

Eurhynchium praelongum auf Humus im Graben eines Waldweges in der Nähe von Bad Münstereifel.

Die Art Eurhynchium praelongum ist ein im Flachland und in den Mittelgebirgen häufiges Moos. Es wächst gerne an schattigen und feuchten bis nassen Orten. Beispielsweise auf dem Waldboden, in Gräben oder an Bächen. Es wächst sowohl auf Erde wie auf morschem Holz und nassem Felsen.

Von der Wuchsform ist diese Art meist ziemlich regelmäßig und dicht einfach gefiedert. Der sichtbare Teil der Wedel ist meist 3-4cm lang. Die Gesamtlänge der Stämmchen kann aber bis 10cm betragen.

Die unterschiedliche Ausbildung der Stämmchen- und Astblätter (oben in den beiden Bildern zu sehen) ist bei dieser Art noch viel deutlicher als bei den meisten anderen der Gattung. Die Stämmchenblätter sind am Grund breit herzförmig oder dreieckig, und dann mehr oder weniger plötzlich in eine lange feine und gesägte Spitze ausgezogen.

Eurhynchium striatum (Hedw.) Schimp.

Hierbei handelt es sich um eine recht kräftige Eurhynchium-Art, die meist um die 5cm hoch wird. Charakteristisch sind die aufsteigenden und mehr oder weniger bäumchenförmig verzweigten Stämmchen, was natürlich in der Aufsicht auf dem Bild unten nicht zu erkennen ist. Von der Farbe her sind die Pflanzen grün bis hellgrün. Ev. sind einige Ästchen flagellenförmig. Vom Habitus recht ähnlich ist die nächste Art Eurhynchium angustirete, welche sich aber durch die Blattform gut unterscheiden läßt.

Die manchmal etwas sparrig abstehenden Blätter haben einen breiten herzförmigen Grund und laufen in eine dreieckige Spitze aus. Sie sind am ganzen Rand gesägt. Die Ästchenblätter sind etwas kleiner als die Stämmchenblätter, ansonsten aber ähnlich. Insgesamt sind die Blätter bis zu zweimal so lang wie breit.

Eurhychium striatum bildet lockere Rasen auf schattigem Waldboden, in Gebüsch, auf morschem Holz oder in feuchten schattigen Wiesen. Es ist vor allem in den atlantischen und mediterraneen Gebieten Europas und in Teilen Nordafrikas verbreitet.

Eurhynchium striatum

Eurhynchium striatum.

Eurhynchium angustirete (Broth.) Kop.

Stämmchenblatt von Eurhynchium angustirete

Stämmchenblatt von Eurhynchium angustirete.

Diese Art ist sehr eng mit Eurhynchium striatum verwandt und sieht auch fast so aus. Ab und zu wird sie auch als Unterart dieser aufgefaßt. Unterscheidungsmerkmal sind die wesentlich breiteren Blätter von Eurhynchium angustirete: Die Stämmchenblätter sind meist nur etwas länger als breit. Der Winkel der vorderen Blattspitze beträgt 45° oder mehr. Leider hat das Blatt rechts nur ganz knapp auf das Bild gepaßt, so daß die Qualität der Aufnahme am Rand nicht so gut ist. Die Pflanzen sind oft etwas gedrungener und dichter beblättert als Eurhynchium striatum.

Eurhynchium angustirete wächst an ähnlichen Stellen wie Eurhynchium striatum und kommt an vielen Stellen mit ihm zusammen vor. Vor allem in Bayern und in den Alpen ist es deutlich häufiger als dieses und scheint es an vielen Stellen zu ersetzen.

by Michael Becker, 10/2000. Letzte Änderung: 8/2001.