Dryptodon patens (Hedw.) Brid.

Family: Grimmiacae(de), Order: Grimmiales(de)

The monotypical genus Dryptodon with its only species Dryptodon patens in a certain manner is an intermediate genus between the two big genera Grimmia and Racomitrium. Its habit is similar to some forms of Racomitrium, whose leaves are without hyaline hair. But the cell walls are, at least in the lower part of the leaves, only very little knottily thickened.

The peristome is similar to the peristome of Racomitrium (with teeth devided to the base), but the seta is arcuate as in many Grimmia species, but none of the Racomitrium species.

As a consequence the species is sometimes called Grimmia patens (Hedw.)BSG, and sometimes Racomitrium patens (Hedw.)Hüb.

In total it is rather easy to recognize: On the dorsal side of the midrib there are 2, sometimes 4 furrows, which can even be guessed on the picture. The other characteristics are not very noticeable: The leaves are long lanceolate and without hyaline hair. The cells in the lower part of the leaf are long rectangular, in the upper part quadratic or broader than long. The plants form dense and dark green cushions, which are in most cases about 5cm high, sometimes until 10cm.

The species grows in chalkfree stone in the mountains. In central Europe it is rare and is only more frequent locally at some places in the mountains. In parts of germany it is extinct. The specimen on the picture comes from Iceland.

leaf von Dryptodon patens

Leaf of Dryptodon patens.

by Michael Becker, 2/2002. Translated: 5/2002:
Last modification: 2/2002.

Dryptodon patens (Hedw.) Brid.

Familie: Grimmiacae, Ordnung: Grimmiales

Die monotypische Gattung Dryptodon mit ihrer einzigen Art Dryptodon patens nimmt in gewisser Hinsicht eine Mittelstellung zwischen den großen Gattungen Grimmia und Racomitrium ein. Vom Habitus ähnelt es Formen von Racomitrium, deren Blätter ohne Glasspitzen sind. Aber die Zellwände sind, vor allem im unteren Teil des Blattes kaum knotig verdickt.

Das Peristom ist ähnlich dem Peristom bei Racomitrium (mit bis zur Basis gespaltenen Zähnen), aber die Seta wiederum ist gekrümmt, was bei vielen Grimmia-Arten, aber nicht bei Racomitrium vorkommt.

Folgerichtig wird die Art auch als Grimmia patens (Hedw.)BSG und als Racomitrium patens (Hedw.)Hüb. geführt.

Insgesamt ist die Art sehr leicht zu erkennen: Auf dem Rücken der Blattrippe befinden sich 2, manchmal 4 Längsfurchen, die sogar auch auf dem Bild unten zu erahnen sind. Ansonsten sind die Merkmale eher unauffällig: Die Blätter sind schmallanzettlich und ohne Glasspitze. Die Zellen sind im unteren Teil des Blattes lang rechteckig, im oberen quadratisch bis breiter als lang. Die Pflanzen bilden dichte, dunkelgrüne Polster, die meist rund 5cm, manchmal aber auch bis zu 10cm hoch werden können.

Die Art wächst auf kalkfreiem Gestein in den Gebirgen. In Deutschland ist sie selten und kommt nur lokal gehäuft an einigen Stellen in einigen höheren Mittelgebirgen vor. In dem meisten Bundesländern ist die Art akut vom Aussterben bedroht, in NRW bereits ausgestorben. Lediglich in Sachsen-Anhalt (im Harz) und in Bayern (wo sie allerdings extrem selten ist) gilt sie als nicht gefährdet. Das Exemplar, von dem das Blatt ist, habe ich in Island gefunden.

Blatt von Dryptodon patens

Blatt von Dryptodon patens.

by Michael Becker, 2/2002. Letzte Änderung: 2/2002.