Calypogeia muelleriana

Calypogeia muelleriane on a loamy slope beside a brook in the forest near the Tomburg (near Rheinbach, germany).

Calypogeia muelleriana (Schiffn.) K.Müll.

Family: Calypogeiaceae(de) Order: Jungermanniales(de)

The genus Calypogeia essentially has the characteristics of the family (description in the moment only in german), which vice versa essentially consists of this genus. In europe it is represented by about 10 species. The distinguishing characteristics between those are the shapes of the leaves and the leaf cells.

Calypogeia muelleriana has obtuse oval, at most very little acuminate or bilobed leaves. The underleaves are divided into two lobes for about 1/3 of their length. In the corner of the leaf cells there are no triangular corner thickenings, as it is the case in the other species of the genus (and as can be seen on the picture of Nardia scalaris). The cells contain about 3-8 oil bodies.

The plants of this species mostly grow on humid, loamy places, sometime also on humus or on rotten wood. It is a not very noticeable, but in the flatlands rather common species. It can be found on the whole northern hemisphere, even far in the north, mostly in the lower regions.

by Michael Becker, 8/2000. Translated: 3/2002:
Last modification: 3/2001.

Calypogeia muelleriana

Calypogeia muelleriana auf einer lehmigen Böschung neben einem Bach im Wald unter der Tomburg bei Rheinbach.

Calypogeia muelleriana (Schiffn.) K.Müll.

Familie: Calypogeiaceae Ordnung: Jungermanniales

Die Gattung Calypogeia trägt im wesentlichen die Merkmale der Familie, die ja auch fast nur aus dieser Gattung besteht. In Europa ist sie mit knapp 10 Arten vertreten. Die Unterscheidung der Arten erfolgt im wesentlich durch Merkmale in der Form der Blätter und der Blattzellen.

Calypogeia muelleriana hat stumpf ovale, höchstens andeutungsweise zugespitzte oder zweilappige Flankenblätter. Die Unterblätter sind auf ca. 1/3 ihrer Länge in zwei Lappen geteilt. Die Zellecken sind nicht wie bei einigen anderen Arten der Gattung dreieckig verdickt. (Wie man es auf dem Bild von Nardia scalaris schön erkennen kann.) Die Blattzellen enthalten 3-8 Ölkörper.

Die Pflanzen dieser Art wachsen meist an eher feuchten, lehmigen Stellen auf Erde, manchmal aber auf Humus oder morschem Holz. Es handelt sich um eine eher unauffällige, aber im Flachland nicht seltene Art. Sie kommt auf der ganzen Nordhalbkugel in den tieferen Lagen vor. Ihr Verbreitungsgebiet reicht bis weit in den Norden.

by Michael Becker, 8/2000. Letzte Änderung: 3/2001.