Anomodon

Family: Anomodontaceae(de), Order: Thuidiales(de)

The genus Anomodon consists of about 25 species, of which 5 can be found in Europe. The plants are more or less robust, and their principal stems are creeping and fixed on the ground. The branches often are only sparsely ramified. Frequently there are flagelliform branches (for example on the picture the flagella of Anomodon attenauatus can be seen).

The leaves are in dry state imbricate and are straight or slightly arcuate. In humid state they are widespread and sometime slightly secund. The leaves themselves are sometimes lanceolate, sometimes long lingulate. They are dentate at most at the tip. The midrib is strong and ends in the tip of the leaf.

The cells of the leaf blade are round and strongly papillose on both sides, so the leaf is opaque. At the base of the leaf the cells are a bit elongated and a bit clearer.

Anomodon viticulosus (Hedw.) Hook.&Tayl.

Within the genus the species Anomodon viticulosus is remarkable by its robustness: It often reaches length of about 10cm. It is the most frequent species of the genus. A further characteristics are the 2-3mm long leaves, which are attenuate and with a round, obtuse tip.

The species grows on shady rocks or on the barc of trees. It is rather frequent in chalk mountains, and a bit more rare otherwise.

The picture below shows Anomodon viticulosus together with Anomodon attenuatus on the barc of a tree in the Eistobel(german) near Isny (in the Allgäu, south germany). Anomodon viticulosus is the more robust moss with the long leaves, not the smaller, pinnate moss. In the middle on the right there is stem of Plagiochila asplenioides.

Anomodon viticulosus and Anomodon attenuatus

Anomodon viticulosus together with some other mosses on the bark of a tree.

Anomodon attenuatus (Hedw.) Hüb.

In contrast to the precedent species Anomodon attenuatus ist in most cases clearly, even regularly, simply pinnate. This species forms widespread turfs. But the single stems and branches are much more smaller: The leaves are about 1mm long. Long flagella nearly always exist. On the picture they can be seen as long filaments hanging off the turf.

The leaves are relatively broad, but muticous. Sometimes there are some teeth at the tip at the leaves.

Anomodon attenuatus grows as Anomodon viticulosus on rocks or barc. It can be found mostly in chalk mountains, and more rarely otherwise.

On the picture above some pinnate plants of Anomodon attenuatus can be seen between the more robust stems of Anomodon viticulosus. In reality the difference between "normal" branches and flagella was very clearly to see. On the picture this isn't the case any more.

by Michael Becker, 9/2000. Translated: 4/2002:
Last modification: 4/2002.

Anomodon

Familie: Anomodontaceae, Ordnung: Thuidiales

Die Gattung Anomodon besteht aus weltweit rund 25 Arten, von denen 5 in Europa vorkommen. Es handelt sich meist um mehr oder weniger kräftige Arten, deren Hauptstamm am Substrat haftet. Die Seitenäste sind oft recht wenig verzweigt. Häufig gibt es flagellenförmige Seitenästchen (s. auf dem Bild die Flagellen von Anomodon attenuatus!)

Die Blätter liegen in trockenem Zustand dem Stämmchen oder Ästchen an und sind gerade oder leicht verbogen. Wenn man sie befeuchtet, stehen sie aufrecht ab. Teilweise sind sie leicht einseitswendig. Die Blätter selber sind teils lanzettlich, teils länglich zungenförmig. Gezähnt sind sie höchstens an der Spitze. Die Blattrippe ist kräftig und endet in der Blattspitze.

Die Zellen der Blattfläche sind rundlich und auf beiden Seiten stark papillös und dadurch trübe. Lediglich gegen den Blattgrund sind sie verlängert und etwas durchsichtiger.

Anomodon viticulosus (Hedw.) Hook.&Tayl.

Innerhalb der Gattung zeichnet sich Anomodon viticulosus durch seinen auffallend kräftigen Wuchs aus: Das Moos wird häufig bis 10cm lang. Es ist hier das häufigste Moos der Gattung. Ein weiteres Merkmal sind die ca. 2-3mm langen, allmählich in eine stumpfe, abgerundete Spitze verschmälerten Blätter.

Die Art kommt an schattigen Felsen oder auf der Rinde von Bäumen vor. In den Kalkgebirgen ist sie recht verbreitet, ansonsten eher seltener. Der Bestand geht in Deutschland zurück, die Art ist aber nicht gefährdet.

Das Bild unten zeigt Anomodon viticulosus zusammen mit Anomodon attenuatus auf der Rinde eines Baumes im Eistobel in der Nähe von Isny (im Westallgäu). Es handelt sich um das kräftige Moos mit den langen Blättern, nicht um das kleinere, fiederig verzweigte. Rechts in der Mitte hat sich außerdem ein Stämmchen von Plagiochila asplenioides eingeschlichen.

Anomodon viticulosus und Anomodon attenuatus

Anomodon viticulosus zusammen mit einigen anderen Moosen an der Rinde eines Baumes.

Anomodon attenuatus (Hedw.) Hüb.

Im Gegensatz zu voriger Art ist Anomodon attenuatus meist stark, häufig auch relativ regelmäßig einfach gefiedert verzweigt. Die Art bildet meist ausgedehnte Rasen. Die einzelnen Stämmchen sind allerdings deutlich schmächtiger: Die Blättchen sind vielleicht 1mm lang. Lange Flagellenästchen sind fast stets vorhanden. Auch im oberen Bild kann man sie als lange dünne Fäden, die aus dem Moosrasen hinausragen, erkennen.

Die Blätter sind bei dieser Art relativ breit, aber vorne bespitzt. An der Blattspitze sitzen manchmal einige Zähne.

Anomodon attenuatus wächst ähnlich wie Anomodon viticulosus auf Felsen und Rinde. Es ist vor allem in den Kalkgebirgen verbreitet, ansonsten eher seltener. Der Bestand geht in Deutschland zurück, die Art ist aber nicht gefährdet.

In obigem Bild sieht man einige Fieder von Anomodon attenuatus zwischen den kräftigeren Stämmchen von Anomodon viticulosus herausstehen. In der Realität konnte man sehr gut den Unterschied zwischen den "normalen" Ästchen und den stark verlängerten und fadenförmigen Flagellenästchen erkennen. Auf dem Bild leider nicht mehr.

by Michael Becker, 9/2000. Letzte Änderung: 2/2002.